Dakar 2021 // SS4: Four MINI desert racers in the top ten

Dakar 2021 // SS4: Four MINI desert racers within the top ten

  • Stéphane Peterhansel finishes second
  • Eighth and ninth place meant for Vasilyev and Terranova

The MINI JCW Pushchair of Peterhansel and Edouard Boulanger continues to top the overall standings right after leg four of this year’s Dakar, which took them from Wadi A-Dawasir to Riyadh. The two Frenchmen ended the stage in 2nd place, just eleven seconds at the rear of Nasser Al-Attiyah. Team-mates Carlos Sainz and Lucas Cruz (both ESP) were fifth and now lie 3rd overall.

The two SMALL JCW Rally crews of Orlando, florida Terranova / Ronnie Graue (both ARG) and Vladimir Vasilyev (RUS) / Dmitry Tsyro (UKR) each made it into the top ten, in 8th and ninth place respectively. In addition they climbed up the overall standings for the back of today’s performance. Terranova now lies eleventh, followed by Vasilyev in twelfth.

The particular organisers (ASO) used today’s lower-leg to take the competitors to the eastern of Saudi Arabia. The result was your longest day of the Dakar 2021, at more than 800 kilometres long. The 337 kilometres against the time clock mainly featured full-throttle sections, along with difficult navigation.

Peterhansel continues to be impressively consistent: while they are yet to claim a phase win, he has ended each of the hip and legs so far in the top three. It really is, thanks to this consistency that he is constantly on the top the overall standings. Today, this individual was on track to pick up his initial stage win until a slight routing error cost him a few seconds with them this  victory. After more than 300 kilometres, he missed out there by just 11 seconds.

Today’s leg was a mixed handbag for Sainz: at one stage, the Spaniard was the fastest guy on the route. However , navigation issues noticed him fall back into fifth location.

Stéphane Peterhansel:   “The stage has been very quick today. Unfortunately, we produced a minor mistake with the navigation plus lost about 30 seconds. I was flat-out today and could not have long gone much quicker. ”

Carlos Sainz:   “The stage was ok, but routing was not easy. We had problems in some places. ”

Tomorrow’s leg heads from Riyadh in order to Al Qaisumah and is 662 kms long in total. The 456-kilometre exclusive stage will once again pose a genuine challenge for the competitors. A dune field awaits them midway with the stage, and stony sections will certainly once again put the tyres to the check.

Result of  SS4
1 . N. Al-Attiyah (QAT) / M. Baumel (FRA) – Toyota – 2h 35m 59s
second . S. Peterhansel (FRA) / Electronic. Boulanger (FRA) – MINI JCW Buggy – 2h 36m 10s
3. They would. Lategan (RSA) / B. Cummings (RSA) – Toyota – 2h 37m 29s
four. S. Loeb (FRA) / Deb. Elena (MCO) – Prodrive – 2h 38m 35s
5. C. Sainz /ESP) / L. Cruz (ESP) – MINI JCW Buggy – 2h 38m 55s

6. V. Vasilyev (RUS) / Deb. Tsyro (UKR) – MINI JCW Rally – 2h 46m 44s
nine. O. Terranova (ARG) / Ur. Graue (ARG) – MINI JCW Rally – 2h 46m 53s

14. G. Spinelli (BRA) / Y. Haddad (BRA) – MINI ALL4 Racing – 2h 50m 46s

24. V. Khoroshavtsev (RUS) and A. Nikolaev (RUS) – SMALL JCW Rally – 2h 59m 54s

Overall standings after SS4
1 . Ersus. Peterhansel (FRA) / E. Boulanger (FRA) – MINI JCW Pushchair – 13h 15m 12s
2 . N. Al-Attiyah (QAT) / M. Baumel (FRA) – Toyota – 13h 20m 10s
three or more. C. Sainz /ESP) / D. Cruz (ESP) – MINI JCW Buggy – 13h 51m 31s
4. H. Loeb (FRA) / D. Elena (MCO) – Prodrive – 14h 03m 26s
five. H. Lategan (RSA) / N. Cummings (RSA) – Toyota – 15h 03m 56s

eleven. O. Terranova (ARG) / L. Graue (ARG) – MINI JCW Rally – 14h 38m 18s
twelve. V. Vasilyev (RUS) / G. Tsyro (UKR) – MINI JCW Rally – 14h 41m 16s
19. Gary the gadget guy. Spinelli (BRA) / Y. Haddad (BRA) – MINI ALL4 Race – 15h 10m 09s
28. V. Khoroshavtsev (RUS) / A. Nikolaev (RUS) – MINI JCW Rally – 15h 44m 29s

This post was originally published on this site

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: